Home » Training » IT as a Service Planning and Design


IT as a Service Planning and Design

This expert-level course provides the knowledge and skills necessary to design cloudbased IT-as-a-Service (ITaaS) solutions. Building on the skills acquired in the Virtualized Data Center and Cloud Infrastructure specialist-level course, it focuses on business, organizational, governance, technology, and service management aspects from a design-centric perspective. By utilizing lecture, discussions, case studies,design examples, and a series of interactive problem-solving labs, students will learn to design solutions which transform business operations and virtualized data centers into ITaaS environments. The course is applicable to enterprise, service provider, and existing virtualized data center operations considering ITaaS. This course uses an ‘open’ approach focusing on core concepts, principals, and technologies rather than specific products. To provide context, the course includes EMC specific examples and case studies.

Upon successful completion of this course, participants should be able to: 

  • Describe the IT-as-a-Service business transformational model 
  • Perform an IT-as-a-Service assessment and propose a service delivery roadmap 
  • Recommend and design an IT-as-a-Service service delivery model 
  • Design and defend an IT-as-a-Service solution 

This course is intended for those responsible to assess, architect, and design ITaaS cloud solutions. 

To understand the content and successfully complete this course, a student should have knowledge and skills associated with the following: 

  • Five or more years of design experience in compute, network, and storage, including the design of virtualized infrastructures in support of key cloud attributes. 
  • Understanding of services lifecycle, cloud delivery and service models concepts. 
  • Strongly recommended pre-requisites include the actual certifications or skills equivalent to VCP, CCDA, and EMCDA certifications. To achieve Expert level certification, the specialist level certification (EMCCA) is a requirement. 

The content of this course is designed to support the course objectives. The following focus areas are included in this course: 
Module 1: Transforming to IT-as-a-Service 

  • It-as-a-Service Model Introduction 
  • Business Transformation 
  • Organizational Transformation 
  • Architectural Transformation 


Module 2: Strategy – Discover & Assessment 

  • Assess GRC – Security 
  • Assess current Service Management strategies 
  • Initial Financial Analysis & Business Case – current CAPEX and OPEX IT 
  • expenditures (application or workload view) 
  • Assess current and potential Service Delivery 
  • Rationalize Service Portfolio 


Module 3: Organization and Governance 

  • Organizational plan 
  • Governance plan 


Module 4: Planning and Design: General Considerations 

  • Cloud Readiness – transform VDC to ITaas 
  • Analyze current VDC maturity to determine infrastructure transformation for an ITaaS to support/enable the development of service offerings 


Module 5: Planning and Design: Cloud Building Blocks 

  • Sizing efforts for cloud infrastructures 
  • Calculating and defining requirements for compute, network, and storage 
  • Cloud sizing to support a given application environment and business needs 
  • Data protection requirements and needs 
  • Various design examples 


Module 6: Planning and Design: Trust and Security 

  • Trust and security considerations for cloud environments 
  • Security concerns, APIs, and practices 


Module 7: Planning and Design: Service Lifecycle 

  • Service creation and definition 
  • Provisioning and managing resources in a cloud environment 
  • Service deployment 
  • Service termination 


Module 8: Planning and Design: Cloud Application Design and Futures 

  • Elements of cloud design 
  • Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) 
  • Future considerations for cloud/ITaaS environments 
Updating ....